My Top Five Second Basemen

download

1.Dee Gordon- I know many of people don’t know who Dee Gordon is and if they do they don’t think he’s the best second baseman. But his stats show that he is the best. He already has 41 stolen base and there are still 40 games left he is by far the fastest runner in baseball right now. He also has 8 triples already which are really hard to get. He has a .332 average which is the best in the league which is another reason why I put him first. Many of you probably haven’t heard of him because he plays for the Miami Marlins. The Marlins have been terrible this year. But some of you might remember him from the Dodgers he was great for the Dodgers but Dodgers traded him for Andrew Heaney who they later turned around and trade for Howie Kendrick from the Angels. I think this was a bad trade for the Dodgers because he is now one of the fastest person in Major League Baseball. I think he will get traded again though next year. I think he will always be a good second baseman but will not play for very good teams for the rest of his career.

download

  1. Jose Altuve- He is also a great second baseman but does not have as good of a average as Gordon so thats why I put him second place. He is a pretty good second baseman he has great defense and can make really good plays. He is a master at starting a double play. He is also very fast like Gordon but does not still as many bases. He already has 32 stolen bases this year. He is pretty short but his great jumping ability makes up for it. Most people probably haven’t heard of him till this year because finally the Astro a doing great. They are leading their division but they better watch out the Rangers are catching right up with them. He is also a pretty good hitter he hits for a pretty good average of .309 which is still pretty good. He is also very young and still has a lot of his career left. He could be a hall of fame second baseman if he keeps playing well and stays healthy.

images

  1. Jason Kipnis- Why does it seem like all the not very good teams have good second baseman? I ask this question a lot to myself. Well I think its because good teams look for more like a good outfielder or first baseman or third baseman I think most teams don’t look at have a really good second baseman. Why put Jason Kipnis third? It because of his good batting average he has a batting average of .324 which is also really good. He is a second baseman you might hear of more than most. Its because he plays on a decent  team and is very good. He doesn’t have the speed though of most second baseman. But his good play make helps him do well. He is a good second baseman but I say he is not the best.

download

  1. Joe Panik- I really don’t know him very well I haven’t really seen him play out on the field. But he is one of the best second baseman. He has a great average of .309 but he does not steal many bases. He plays for a pretty good team I guess I just haven’t heard much about him so thats all im going to say about Joe Panik                                    images
  2. Rougned Odor- [Caution Rangers Fan] Why I picked him is one I’m a Rangers fan and two he is a pretty good second baseman. He started of this year pretty bad. The Rangers sent him down earlier this year then brought him back up. Ever since he has been awesome. He has hit 11 home runs since he came back up and he has a batting average of .280 which is way better then before he went down in the minors. It seems like something click when he was playing for Round Rock Express. He is a really good hitter and is a pretty good fielder. I think that Rangers get into the wild card this year and Odor plays awesome.

Leave a comment